What to Know
- Instagram does not send any notifications when an account is blocked.
- Getting blocked from an account is different from an Instagram profile set to private.
- A simple search is a better alternative to third-party apps to tell if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
This article outlines how to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Instagram?
In fact, nothing happens. You won’t receive a notification from Instagram if someone has blocked you. If you don’t look into it, you’ll never find out.
You may tell someone has blocked you on Instagram by:
- Someone’s account activity has dropped, and you haven’t spotted their shares or stories on your feed or received direct messages from them for some time.
- You search a person’s Instagram account handle but can’t find the account or access their profile.
How to Know If Someone Blocked You on Instagram
Try a couple more approaches to find out if someone blocked you or if you simply made a mistake if you’re still unsure.
Search for their account. Go to the Search bar in the app and input their username. If the account doesn’t show up in the results, they either blocked you or deleted their account.
Use an old comment or a DM to reach their profile. If their profile shows up but also displays a User not found and a No Posts Yet message on the photo grid, it indicates that the person has blocked you.
This method only works if they have exchanged messages with you. If they haven’t, then use the following steps on this list.
Visit their Instagram profile on the web. Launch any mobile or desktop browser and enter www.instagram.com/(username). If you can see their profile on the browser but not on the app, it means they blocked you. If you cannot see the profile via Instagram on the web, the person could have deleted their account.
Try to follow them. Go to Instagram on the web and open their profile page in the browser. Check if they have blocked you by tapping the blue follow button. If they have blocked you, the button won’t work, and Instagram might indicate a problem with a message.
Look for likes and comments on groups and other accounts. This activity indicates that the user hasn’t deleted their account but has only blocked you.